HIFICRITIC audio review magazine
HIFICRITIC FORUMS
Current Issue
HIFICRITIC
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline JonnyP  
#1 Posted : 22 August 2017 10:18:12(UTC)
JonnyP

United Kingdom

Hello to everyone at the the Hifi Critic forum.

I should qualify my question. Even though I have a pretty decent Hifi system (digital and analogue), I'm not very good at AB subjective comparisons - no idea why and a bit embarrassing!

Anyway, I've read a lot about the pros and cons of hi res downloads, and I'm sceptical about the benefits of any offerings that are reworked from old master tapes whether analogue or digital masters. So my question is simply: Are there any hi res albums from pre 2000 (arbitrary date) that demonstrate a discernable improvement over the original vinyl or CD?

I'm very interested to hear your opinions - thanks.
Offline Pete_w  
#2 Posted : 22 August 2017 14:52:34(UTC)
Pete_w

Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Welcome to the forum, Jonny.

You'll get a diverse range of opinions on this one. I seem to be here first, so here's mine, for what it's worth...

I don't think that there's a consistent answer to your question, however convenient it would be to have one. With some of the hi-res re-issues of older material, what I think you're often paying for is for a competent engineer to go back, take their time, and do the job properly for a more "audiophile" audience. You're paying for that, not for the "hi-res" per se.

Let me give you three anecdotal examples, from varying eras...